Home > Book Reviews > I am The Messenger by Markus Zusak

I am The Messenger by Markus Zusak

Synopsis:
Ed Kennedy is an underage cabdriver without much of a future. He’s pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his bestfriend, Audrey, and utterly devoted to his coffee-drinking dog, the Doorman. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery.

That’s when the first ace arrives in the mail.

That’s when Ed becomes the messenger.

Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting(when necessary) until only one question remain: Who’s behind Ed’s mission?

Review:

I bought this book in a sale, meaning, the price is lowered and is affordable. I never thought that this book will urge my interest because it is a Young Adult’s book. I thought it is some kind of a typical story of a hero who wanted to save the world in use of his special powers, but it is not like that, the book has a heart.

Ed has no special powers or whatsoever to protect the world, but instead he uses his good heart to inspire people to correct the unwanted events of other people’s lives. It is a page turner and made me read the whole book for two days (to think that I still have a job to attend to). I never regretted buying I am The Messenger not because the price is cheap, to honestly say, I would still buy it in a much higher price because the inspiration it brought to me already is priceless.

As the story comes along, I felt so refreshed, it brought me positive thinking of handling a certain doomed situation and not to say that it is a tear-jerker. I can easily relate to the characters because they are around you, they are the typical people you can see around the streets or they are also maybe your friend you’re counting on to. I can relate to every chapter of the book because one way or the other, it happened or will happen to me. It is how ordinary the story is.

Markus Zusak knows how to touch your heart through writing, it can be easily understood by the children and not to mention, it is a Micheal Printz Awardee For Excellence In Young Adult Literature by the American Library Association.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to get inspired by a simple story. Pick this book up as soon as you can because this title is so rare nowadays. And yes, it is the messenger!

Categories: Book Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

