Home > Book Reviews > Raven’s Gate by Anthony Horowitz (The Gatekeepers #1)

Raven’s Gate by Anthony Horowitz (The Gatekeepers #1)

Matthew Freeman or Matt as they call him is a problem child. His parents died in a car accident and he never believe that it is just an accident. One night, Matt and his friend robbed a warehouse and got arrested by the police. Since he is too young to be in a jail, the court decided to just give him a sanction by the means of LEAF project. This is the project wherein somebody will adopt him and he needs to do all the chores he is being given. Mrs. Derevill, his new foster parent is a strange woman. She acts so weird. Matt knew there’s something wrong in the place where he is now and decided to investigate what is really happening around him, until he found one thing that will change his life forever, he’s going to die…

I have this book sitting on my shelf for a while, until last week, I pick it up and started to turn the page. I am expecting something on this book because the reviews its getting is quite impressive, and the book didn’t disappoint me. Horowitz made the book believable even though it’s in a supernatural category. I also expect that the ending will be a cliffhanger, and boy! I was right! It made me want to read the next book in the series, but my self-control is stronger than the urge I felt. I really need a breaker after reading a book that’s a part of a series, I want to keep myself as excited as possible. I am planning to read the second book two weeks from now, and I hope Horowitz kept the excitement the “Raven’s Gate” have.

  1. September 25, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    he does manage to keep the suspense running through books 2 to 4. now there’s only one book left from the series. i hope history doesn’t repeat itself.

    you see, in the 80’s, horowitz already released these books. under a different title, most with different character names. but the story was essentially the same. he never wrote the last book of that series.

    fast forward to the new millennium, he decided to rewrite the series. and it’s a success. but now that the fourth book is done, i’m kind of afraid that he won’t release the last book again. i sure hope he doesn’t do this.

  2. September 26, 2010 at 1:10 am

    Thanks for the comment 🙂

    I wonder when he’ll release the last book of the series. Any news about it? Well then, I also hope that history doesn’t repeat itself this time.

    I’ll add you in my blog roll.

    • September 26, 2010 at 2:15 am

      still no news about it; he did finish writing the ninth and final book of the alex rider series, so there’s that. but as for the last power of five (aka, gatekeepers) book? he’s saying nothing.

      and thanks! will add you to mine too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

