Home > Book Reviews > Feed by Mira Grant

Feed by Mira Grant

“After finding a cure to common cold and cancer, the world became more catastrophic. Instead of making the world better, it turned out to be more disastrous due to the medicine invented to cure the said diseases.

Another president will be voted, who the people expect at least to manage the cause of the uncureable disease. Three journalists was granted an access of following the one of the presidential campaign, and here, their adventure will start…”

Zombies? I’m not quite sure if I love zombies, even in movies. For me, they are one of the lamest creature ever created, next to vampires(sorry for the fans of zombies and vampires).

When my bookish friend, Tina(See her review of feed here), lend me this book, I’m not sure if it will arouse my curiosity of reading a zombie book because I know that the plot will always be the same. Since Tina knows how to determine a great book and I also trust her taste in books, then I felt that I should give this book a try. After reading the book, my belief changed… and thanks to Tina for that.

As I’ve said, the plot is the same as the other zombie movies have, but the way the author wrote the book is much different, that’s why I liked Feed. The book is written in Georgia Mason’s point of view, but it is also followed by the perspective through the other character’s blog in the end of each chapter.

I love Shaun, Georgia’s brother. I love the way he talk, the way he act and the way he think. I wish I do have a brother like him. I swear, If I do have a brother like him, I’ll always spank his face and will always kick his ass!

Honestly, the book started slow and picked up on the later part, but once you got “there”, I swear, you will wish you have all the time to finish the book in one sitting. The author really amazed me on how she concocted zombie and dystopia, she must be a genius because she actually did that awesomely.

The ending is unpredictable, and you’ll be surprised that it is already happening without any warning… so be prepared before you read this novel.

If you love zombies, then you must read this book.

Categories: Book Reviews
  1. October 28, 2010 at 4:18 am

    I LOVED this book (and I am a Zombie fan). Great review. 🙂 I can’t wait to read the second book.

  2. October 29, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Hello 🙂 I’m not really a fan of zombies, but this book made me want to read “The Enemy”, “Rot & Ruin” and other zombie books.

  3. October 31, 2010 at 2:04 am

    for me, zombie fiction really depends on treatment. unlike vampires and werewolves where the creatures can have a myriad of characteristics, zombies only have one set: they’re dead and they’re going to do everything in their power to eat you. so for a work of zombie literature to be good, it has to be well-written and well-plotted.

    i’m a big fan of zombie fiction, but i know how they tend to feel the same when you read/watch them. FEED is one of the few exceptions to the rule, because it attacks zombie fiction in a more political point-of-view.

    there are also other books out there that treat zombie literature a bit differently than the more mainstream media. if you find a copy of THE NEW DEAD anthology (edited by christopher golden), do give that a try. the anthology preceded ROT & RUIN, wherein the author decided to expand his universe after writing the short story FAMILY BUSINESS for THE NEW DEAD.

    also, you might also enjoy WORLD WAR Z which tackles zombie fiction through war and politics.

    • November 1, 2010 at 1:15 am

      I already have those books a year ago, I’m just reluctant to read it coz I might be disappointed when I read it, but because of this book, it made me want to read more zombies, and to say, I’m currently reading The Enemy by Higson. Now, who doesn’t want zombies? hehehe!

  4. December 2, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Hmm. I don’t tend to read zombie books, but maybe I’ll give this one a try.

  1. November 18, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

